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KORETZ BILL TO PREVENT CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING  
BEHIND BOATS BECOMES LAW 

The Anthony Farr and Stacy Beckett Boating Safety Act Informs Boaters About This Deadly Risk  
 

(Sacramento) –  AB 2222, groundbreaking legislation by Assemblyman Paul Koretz (D-

West Hollywood) to make boaters aware of the risk of carbon monoxide (CO) poisoning behind 

boats, was signed today by Governor Schwarzenegger.  The law is the first of its kind in the 

country.  

  The new law will be known as the Anthony Farr and Stacy Beckett Safe Boating Act of 

2004, in memory of 11-year-old Anthony Farr of El Dorado Hills and 15-year-old Stacy Beckett of 

Chino, both of whom died from being overcome by carbon monoxide while teak-surfing behind a 

boat.  Anthony and Stacy’s Law will inform boaters of the risk of CO poisoning and will also 

reduce injuries and fatalities by prohibiting "teak surfing" and other activities in which a person is 

near the back of a motorized boat, near the exhaust.     

“This new law will protect California boaters and their friends and family from this hidden 
killer.  No one should ever have to watch a family member mysteriously slip into the water behind 
the boat and never surface,” said Assemblyman Koretz.   “I am so thankful to everyone involved in 
making this happen, including Governor Schwarzenegger.  He should be commended for signing 
this legislation, which will surely become a model for other states.  His action today will educate 
more Californians about CO poisoning and ultimately save lives.” 

All marine engines emit lethal amounts of CO, which is a colorless, odorless, tasteless gas 
that can kill anyone in minutes if they are too close to the boat’s exhaust.  The highest 
concentrations of CO are around swim decks and areas where occupants frequently sit or swim at 
the rear of the boat because the exhaust ports are located nearby.   

“Carbon monoxide emissions from boats have claimed too many lives already, including 
many children who were out having fun with their friends and family,” said Assemblyman Koretz.  
“Each of these senseless, tragic deaths was preventable.  Boaters must become aware that they 
should never be near the back of the boat when the engine is running, not even for a minute.”  

-- more -- 



 

According to several federal agencies, in the last few years, there have been 111 deaths and 
445 near-deaths around the country, of both children and adults, due to CO poisoning while they are  
near boats.   Thirty-nine Californians have suffered from boat-related CO poisoning at such places 
as Discovery Bay, Folsom Lake, The Delta, Catalina, Lake Shasta, and Lake Havasu.  The new 
trend of teak surfing, dragging or body surfing, where individuals hold on to the swim platform 
while the boat moves forward, and then perhaps let go to body surf the boat’s wake, has increased 
the number of these poisonings.   

AB 2222 will require the state Department of Boating and Waterways and the Department 
of Motor Vehicles to work together to get warning information out to boaters in their boat 
registration renewal.  The bill also requires that when any boat is sold in California, new or used, 
that warning stickers be affixed to the boat, so both the driver and anyone behind the boat can 
clearly see the warning.  AB 2222 also makes it an infraction to operate a boat whenever anyone is 
teak-surfing, body-surfing or occupying the swim platform or swim ladder when the engine is 
running.  Finally, the bill calls upon boat manufacturers to invest in research and development to 
find ways to clean up these engines and re-design their boats to reduce the risk.  

“Our family’s hope is that this new law will save lives by raising awareness of the dangers 
of the poison emitted from all family ski boats,” said Sheri Beckett.  “Our daughter Stacy is gone 
forever.  By signing AB 2222 into law, the Governor is helping protect other California boating 
families from experiencing the life changing tragedy of losing a child,” she said. 

AB 2222 takes effect on January 1, 2005 with a delayed implementation until May 1, 2005 
for the mailing and labeling requirements in the bill. 
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